The University System of Georgia
270 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334

The University System of Georgia (USG) is a part of the community in each of Georgia’s 159 counties and provides services across the state. The USG is composed of 26 higher education institutions including four research universities, four comprehensive universities, nine state universities and nine state colleges. It also includes the Georgia Public Library Service, which encompasses approximately 389 facilities within the 61 library systems throughout the State of Georgia. Additionally, the USG includes the Georgia Archives which identifies, collects, manages, preserves and provides access to records and information about Georgia.

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as a part of a reorganization of Georgia’s state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The governor appoints members of the Board to a seven-year term and regents may be reappointed to subsequent terms by a sitting governor. Regents donate their time and expertise to serve the state through their governance of the University System of Georgia – the position is a voluntary one without financial remuneration. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 19 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the state’s 14 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The Board oversees the public colleges and universities that comprise the University System of Georgia and has oversight of the Georgia Archives and the Georgia Public Library System.

The Chancellor provides leadership in higher education and stewardship of state and University System resources by promoting a statewide perspective on higher education that attends to the current and developing needs of the State, its citizens and students, and relates them effectively to the University System and its institutions. The Chancellor supports the Board of Regents in furthering and achieving its vision for the University System by providing leadership in analyzing, monitoring, and anticipating higher education trends and developments, and by planning strategically for the future of the University System. The Chancellor also serves on the Georgia-based Alliance of Education Agency Heads, a collaborative partnership with the Governor’s office and Georgia’s education agency heads.

The divisions of the USG are:

  • Academic Affairs
    Academic Affairs promotes and ensures academic quality in the University of System of Georgia. The various departments within Academic Affairs work closely with USG institutions to ensure that the citizens of Georgia can pursue further studies from a rich variety of high-quality academic programs – undergraduate, graduate, and professional – to meet their interests and lifelong career needs.
  • External Affairs
    External Affairs promotes and advances the University System of Georgia by strategically communicating with the public and key stakeholders while also building partnerships in Georgia and beyond through the division's work in communications, government relations and economic development.
  • Fiscal Affairs
    Fiscal Affairs handles the allocation of state appropriations to all University System of Georgia institutions; manages the internal administration of the University System Office, including budgeting, accounting, purchasing, inventory and cash management; and develops business procedures and practices for USG institutions. The division provides regular reports on the financial performance of University System of Georgia institutions and the system as a whole.
  • Internal Audit, Ethics, & Compliance
    The Office of Internal Audit, Ethics & Compliance supports the University System of Georgia’s (USG) management in meeting its governance, risk management, compliance and internal control responsibilities while helping to independently and objectively enhance operational efficiency and effectiveness.
  • Operations
    The Operations Division oversees the operations and establishes policies for all 26 colleges and universities that comprise the University System of Georgia. By leveraging the world-class assets of our institutions, the division strives to make USG students, their communities and the entire state more prosperous, more secure in the 21st century and more effective in creating a truly educated Georgia.  

For more information visit

Board of Regents
The University System of Georgia

Doug Aldridge
Tom Bradbury
Richard “Tim” Evans
W. Allen Gudenrath
Erin Hames (Vice Chair)
Samuel D. Holmes
Bárbara Rivera Holmes
C. Thomas Hopkins, Jr., MD
James M. Hull
Cade Joiner
Patrick C. Jones
C. Everett Kennedy, III
Sarah-Elizabeth Langford
Lowery Houston May
Jose R. Perez
Neil L. Pruitt, Jr.
Harold Reynolds (Chair)
T. Dallas Smith
James K. Syfan, III

University System of Georgia Institutions

Research Universities

Augusta University. Augusta
Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
Georgia State University, Atlanta
University of Georgia, Athens

Comprehensive Universities

Georgia Southern University, Statesboro
Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw
University of West Georgia, Carrollton
Valdosta State University, Valdosta

State Universities

Albany State University, Albany
Clayton State University, Morrow
Columbus State University, Columbus
Fort Valley State University. Fort Valley
Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville
Georgia Southwestern State University, Americus
Middle Georgia State University, Macon
Savannah State University, Savannah
University of North Georgia, Dahlonega

State Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Tifton
Atlanta Metropolitan State College, Atlanta
College of Coastal Georgia. Brunswick
Dalton State College, Dalton
East Georgia State College, Swainsboro
Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville
Georgia Highlands College, Rome
Gordon State College, Barnesville
South Georgia State College, Douglas